bones 4×18: the doctor in the den

So I took some time off from this whole blogging schtick, and I was thinking you know, maybe it isn’t for me, maybe I just don’t have the stamina to keep up a regular blog.  But I’ve still been watching TV in this last week of no posting, and last night’s episode of Bones… well.  I did not like it.  And there is a bit of a feminist rant ahead, so be prepared.

First of all, let me say I have nothing against Tamara Taylor, who is a very talented actress.  And what’s more, I quite like Cam as a character; she makes a good contrast to flighty Angela and clueless Brennan.  However, most people don’t watch this show every week because of Cam, they watch because of the chemistry between Brennan and Booth, so an episode with almost no interaction between them is off to a rocky start to begin with.  (Really, I think what this episode needed was an ending scene with Booth and Brennan discussing Cam’s decision to adopt the girl, but whatever.)

But the thing is, the lack of Booth/Brennan screentime is not what I really disliked about this episode.  What I really disliked about its episode was the attitude toward gender.  Allow me to elaborate.

So Angela’s going to be celibate for a while; fine, good for her.  But her coming on to every man in sight, and genuinely sexually harassingpoor Clark, was unnecessary and ridiculous.  What’s more, since she’s supposedly bisexual now, shouldn’t she have been coming on to all the women as well?  I won’t go into my whole rant about media portrayals of female bisexuality again, but you can read it here.

What’s more, I’m finding that I really hate this stereotype that ALL WOMEN want babies, and once they hit a certain age become desperate to have them.  (See also: Cuddy on House, Liz Lemon on 30 Rock.)  Cam has said in the past that she absolutely was not interested in having children; now we learn that that was only because she already loved little Michelle so much, or whatever.  Brennan is apparently also going to start going baby-crazy soon, according to the spoilers.  I mean, I’m all for the Booth/Brennan sexy funtimes, but… ugh.

I still like Bones, and I’m looking forward to next week’s episode, which is apparently set in a particle physics lab akin to CERN.  But show, usually you do a fairly good job of portraying smart women who are more than stereotypes.  What were you thinking here???

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

